Forum Discussion

nathang
New Contributor
7 years ago

Web Service Example Tutorials

Hi, 

I am new to the SOAP UI tool and I am currently trying to learn SOAP UI via the web service example tutorials on your page i.e. YouTube, Flickr etc. However when I import the .wsdl file into the project and try to run the individual test suites they all fail!

Do you you know why these are failing?

Kind regards

Nathan 

3 Replies

nmrao
    Champion Level 3
    Would you mind elaborating about the failure?
    nathang
    New Contributor

Well I downloaded all of the sample projects from here;

https://www.soapui.org/tutorials/web-service-example-projects.html

Once uploaded into SoapUI I try to run some of the test steps that have already been created i.e (Google Maps) Directions API Test Suite.

When I run one of the tests they seem to fail with;

"XPathContains assertion failed for path" or "XPathContains comparison failed for path"

Surely these should be all correct if i'm using the pre-made .wsdl files?

Thanks

JHunt
    Community Hero

The Google Maps one is working - in this case "Assertion Failed" just means that the data you received back wasn't exactly what was given as the expected result. But this failure was expected, if you are following the tutorial at https://www.soapui.org/tutorials/google-maps.html

As you can see the validation is up to 7 decimals, unfortunately though the last decimals of returned coordinates change rather frequently in which case you will have to either update the “Expected Result” value of the assertion to be in line with the current value, or change the assertion alltogether to either ignore coordinates or handle changes (for example by selecting specific values and truncating them).

You may be more interested to just look at the result yourself rather than rely on assertions - open up the Test Step and click on the JSON or Raw tabs for the response. You should see that you got a proper response.

{