Forum Discussion

smartTest
Contributor
13 years ago

SetUp Scripts for current and future dates

Hiya, I'm really new to Java/Groovy/SoapUI but have found these boards to be invaluable. I'm therefore asking the community for help with something I'm struggling with.....

I've created a setUp script:

testRunner.testCase.setPropertyValue("TODAY", new Date().format("yyyy-MM-dd"));

to set a property to be Today's date. My question is, how can I amend this script to allow for tomorrow's date (i.e. Today + 1), I'm just not sure where in the script to add the + 1

thanks in advance all..

6 Replies

WaveyDavey
    Occasional Contributor
    I'd be really interested in this also:
    I run a REST request to update a db column to now()+30days, then a second REST query to get the row back - I'd like to set an assertion
    returned value (in xml) = date_value (to within a minute or so)

I assume the assertion would need to be a groovy script.

the within a minute or so is because column on db is datetime, and there's naturally some lag between updating and re-checking.

David
    WaveyDavey
    Occasional Contributor
    Ok, I did this. Probably much nicer ways to do it, but ...

//Parse table row returned
    def dbNewDbu = context.expand( '${check DBU really changed#ResponseAsXml#//root[1]/data[1]/reset[1]}' )

dateFormat = new java.text.SimpleDateFormat("yyyy-MM-dd HH:mm:ss");
    Date dbValAsDate = dateFormat.parse(dbNewDbu);

// Set up a pair of calendar object for date manipulation
    def a = Calendar.getInstance();
    def b = Calendar.getInstance();
    // set them now + 30 days +/- 5 minutes in case of time sync differences
    a.add(Calendar.DATE,30);
    b.add(Calendar.DATE,30);
    a.add(Calendar.MINUTE,-5);
    b.add(Calendar.MINUTE,5);

// get 2 date objects from Calendar objects, so we can do assertion with before and after methods
    Date aDate = a.getTime();
    Date bDate = b.getTime();

s1= dateFormat.format(aDate);