Forum Discussion

Ahaan
New Contributor
7 years ago
Solved

Need help with converting a String Property to Integer while Sending a soap request

Hi,

I am new to Soap UI and am trying the following scenario -

Scenario: Read an excel file for the data to be used in the Soap requests and also which Test steps are to be executed  and then execute the same.

WSDL used:http://www.dneonline.com/calculator.asmx?WSDL

Issue: setPropertyValue() takes in only String parameters from what I understand so it looks like the integer data from the excel is stored in string format in  the properties created. The Soap requests in questions need integer data but when I import the data into the requests using property expansion,the data loaded is in string format which leads to the following fault string being returned. How do I get past this issue?

<faultstring>System.Web.Services.Protocols.SoapException: Server was unable to read request. ---> System.InvalidOperationException: There is an error in XML document (5, 31). ---> System.FormatException: Input string was not in a correct format.
   at System.Number.StringToNumber(String str, NumberStyles options, NumberBuffer&amp; number, NumberFormatInfo info, Boolean parseDecimal)
   at System.Number.ParseInt32(String s, NumberStyles style, NumberFormatInfo info)
   at System.Xml.XmlConvert.ToInt32(String s)
   at Microsoft.Xml.Serialization.GeneratedAssembly.XmlSerializationReader1.Read1_Add()
   at Microsoft.Xml.Serialization.GeneratedAssembly.ArrayOfObjectSerializer.Deserialize(XmlSerializationReader reader)
   at System.Xml.Serialization.XmlSerializer.Deserialize(XmlReader xmlReader, String encodingStyle, XmlDeserializationEvents events)
   --- End of inner exception stack trace ---
   at System.Xml.Serialization.XmlSerializer.Deserialize(XmlReader xmlReader, String encodingStyle, XmlDeserializationEvents events)
   at System.Xml.Serialization.XmlSerializer.Deserialize(XmlReader xmlReader, String encodingStyle)