Forum Discussion

fgvieira
Contributor
7 years ago
Solved

Login/logout testcase

Hello,

I'm new to soapUI and after reading some documentation and check some tutorials on youtube not being able to do something. I wanna do a login test to a website, what I mean is I wanna check out if with some credentials I can acess the site and then verify if login was succeeded or not. 

If that was not clear, please let me know. Really would like some help.

Thank you in advance.

• It sounds like you want to do what a browser would do when a user enters login details on a website.

Doing a login on a webpage form isn't the same thing as invoking a RESTful webservice - but there are a lot of similarities. REST isn't actually a protocol - it's more about ideas for how to design a webservice. The underlying protocol is just HTTP. So since SoapUI uses HTTP for REST test steps, in theory you should be able to test the same actions that a browser takes pretty easily using REST test steps, though it could depend on what technologies the website is using. The sending of passwords is rarely is simple as I'm going to explain here. (This is one reason that people have been asking you for specific information about the website you are trying to log into - you don't need to name it but we need to know how it works).

The other possibility is that you're trying to use a REST service, and not a website. In that case you either need somebody to tell you the parameters to put on your request (and whether they go in the URI, in the body, in the headers etc), or you can load a WADL. If you load a proper WADL, SoapUI should be able to generate some test requests with default parameters that you can just update. (Just because you added a URI to your SoapUI project, that doesn't mean you successfully loaded a WADL).

The super basic approach to logging in to a web page: