Forum Discussion

krogold's avatar
krogold
Regular Contributor
6 years ago
Solved

is it possible to remove safely .readyapi and .soapuixx directories ?

Hello,

 

I have used many of readyAPI versions, from 2.2.0 to 2.7.0 and I have several elements in my /user/ directory about which I'd like to know if I can safely remove them in order to restart on a clean basis, with or without reinstalling readyAPI 2.7.0 version. And if I can remove them, if I have to reauthenticate explicitely with my license number, etc.

Here is the list :

.loadui

.readyapi

.soapui

.soapuios

default-soapui-workspace.xml (for this one, I know it's ok, I just have to reimport my project)

soapui-settings.xml (for this one I'm not sure)

 

Thanks for any information

 

Alex

 

  • Those directories contain any plug-ins that you may be using or installed. Make sure if you no more require those plug-ins before deleting.

     

    By the way, these directories don't occupy much memory. So is the setting files.

     

    And these directories are independent of software version. If particular version of software is using updated plug-in, then you may see multiple versions of plug-in. So take a look if that is the case and use updated plug-in if that is suitable and needed to you.

    Otherwise, I would not worry to remove or clean those directories.

3 Replies

  • groovyguy's avatar
    groovyguy
    Champion Level 1

    Those folders are where any/every version of ReadyAPI stores its data, such as logs, database files, etc. You can delete but the next time you launch ReadyAPI it will recreate those folders.

     

    As for soapui-settings.xml, that contains all of the preference changes you made within ReadyAPI itself. Delete at your own risk.

  • nmrao's avatar
    nmrao
    Champion Level 3

    Those directories contain any plug-ins that you may be using or installed. Make sure if you no more require those plug-ins before deleting.

     

    By the way, these directories don't occupy much memory. So is the setting files.

     

    And these directories are independent of software version. If particular version of software is using updated plug-in, then you may see multiple versions of plug-in. So take a look if that is the case and use updated plug-in if that is suitable and needed to you.

    Otherwise, I would not worry to remove or clean those directories.

    • TanyaYatskovska's avatar
      TanyaYatskovska
      SmartBear Alumni (Retired)

      Thanks for your suggestions, nmrao, msiadak,

       

      krogold, did they help you resolve the issue? Please share with us your solution.