Forum Discussion

Janett
Occasional Contributor
9 years ago

No notification from SmartBear when i used Amazon EC2 instance to generate load

Hi,

I am new to LoadComplete. I just tried the sample tests what SmartBear documentation has provided. Likewise I tried to open an account in Amazon Web Services to generate load from cloud instance according to SmartBear-LoadComplete documentation guides. I am new to AWS too. I am not aware of AWS free tier instances and other charged instances. So as per LoadComplete documentation on Amazon Image, I selected instance type as Medium instance(m3.medium) which I was not aware about the charges. LoadComplete documentation recommended m1.large instance to select, but I selected only medium instance and run the test. At last I got charged from Amazon for using that instance for a month. I even don't know that there is an instance(m3.medium) has launched automatically and its running in my AWS account until I stop. 

So my question is, doesn’t LoadComplete notify to its users, that a user has launched an instance in AWS? Won’t it send a notification to its users (e.g. Notification e-mails or messages)? Because this is the point where I didn’t think about charged instance.

Regards

Janett

• Hi Janett,

While in general I absolutely agree with you, I would like to wonder if the Cloud Test Price dialog (https://support.smartbear.com/viewarticle/78953/) was shown before the test was started? Maybe it was set to not be displayed?

P.S. Nevertheless, thank you for your post as it provides a good consideration topics and checkpoints for those who are new to AWS.

4 Replies

AlexKaras
    Champion Level 3

Hi Janett,

While in general I absolutely agree with you, I would like to wonder if the Cloud Test Price dialog (https://support.smartbear.com/viewarticle/78953/) was shown before the test was started? Maybe it was set to not be displayed?