Forum Discussion

jonrey
Occasional Contributor
9 years ago
Solved

Random Date Project Property

Hello all!

I'm hoping that somebody can help me with this request - I'm a complete novice at this type of coding.  I need to create a Project Property variable to randomize a date in my Soap Request with the following parameters:

• Year is 2014 or 2015 only
  • Any month 01-12 (has to have the leading 0 if single digit)
  • Day is always 01
  • Format example: YYYY-MM-DD (2014-06-01)

So far - without even toggling between year of 2014 and 2015 - I have a value of ${=String.valueOf('2014-'&'(Math.Random(01-12))'&'-01')}, but get error:

The string 'No signature of method: java.lang.String.and() is applicable for argument types: (java.lang.String) values: [(Math.Random(01-12))]
Possible solutions: any(), find(java.lang.String), any(groovy.lang.Closure), find(), find(groovy.lang.Closure), find(java.lang.String, groovy.lang.Closure)' is not a valid AllXsd value

Another way to accomplish this could be using an array, but I'm not sure how to set that up in a Property one-liner either.

Thank you.  Any help or guidance would be greatly appreciated!!

• Hi,

You're welcome, happy to help! :-)

I'm not sure, but think the 00:00:00 is the HH:MM:SS part of the XML DateTime datatype e.g.

<startdate>2002-05-30T09:00:00</startdate>

see http://www.w3schools.com/schema/schema_dtypes_date.asp

Are you using a SOAP or XML request with that data type? If so, it will probably force your date to include the time portion.

Cheers,

Rup

• Hi,

Don't worry, I'm happy to help and wondered if you might also want to know how to use the script inline as a property expansion, as its more of a mouthful than the first expression was!

I think the short answer is (use semicolons to separate the statements when using inline):

${=def now = new Date().parse("yy-MM-dd", "14-06-01");now.month = 6 + new Random().nextInt(18);now.format("yy-MM-dd")}