Ask a Question

Random Date Project Property

SOLVED
jonrey
Occasional Contributor

Random Date Project Property

Hello all!

I'm hoping that somebody can help me with this request - I'm a complete novice at this type of coding.  I need to create a Project Property variable to randomize a date in my Soap Request with the following parameters:

• Year is 2014 or 2015 only
  • Any month 01-12 (has to have the leading 0 if single digit)
  • Day is always 01
  • Format example: YYYY-MM-DD (2014-06-01)

So far - without even toggling between year of 2014 and 2015 - I have a value of ${=String.valueOf('2014-'&'(Math.Random(01-12))'&'-01')}, but get error:

The string 'No signature of method: java.lang.String.and() is applicable for argument types: (java.lang.String) values: [(Math.Random(01-12))]
Possible solutions: any(), find(java.lang.String), any(groovy.lang.Closure), find(), find(groovy.lang.Closure), find(java.lang.String, groovy.lang.Closure)' is not a valid AllXsd value

Another way to accomplish this could be using an array, but I'm not sure how to set that up in a Property one-liner either.

Thank you.  Any help or guidance would be greatly appreciated!!

16 REPLIES 16
rupert_anderson
Valued Contributor

Hi,

Well, there are probably a few ways to do this, here is one for your to try:

//To get either 2014 or 2015, I started with 2014 and added either 0 or 1 (randomly generated) to it.

def randomYear = new Random().nextInt(2)+2014

//To get a 0 padded month between 01 and 12, I generate an integer between 1 and 12.

def randomMonth = String.valueOf(new Random().nextInt(12)+1)

//Then finally combine the parts, whilst padding the month (as a String) to 2 digits. 
log.info randomYear + '-' + randomMonth.padLeft( 2, '0' ) + '-01'

To get this in a one liner:

log.info new Random().nextInt(2)+2014 + '-' + String.valueOf(new Random().nextInt(12)+1).padLeft( 2, '0' ) + '-01'

prints

• Thu May 21 19:57:40 UTC 2015:INFO:2014-06-01