Forum Discussion

Bharadwaj
Contributor
7 years ago
Solved

Parsing a simple SOAPUI JSON Response in Groovy

Hi Guys,

I am new to Soap UI and Groovy. I am looking to develop a generic function in Groovy which takes a SOAPUI rest response which is a JSON ,access all the objects in it and print it on to the console,something like the code below, I have searched google but could not get much help ,I found the solution as described below, but it really did not help my cause

Solution found on slack overflow

Requirement 1 :  A generic groovy function to print any rest API JSON response as key value pairs on to the console.

Please Note : I have no idea of field names inside the JSON response before hand,so the example I gave below won't work in my case.

Requirement 2 : Read the Rest API JSON response into a groovy collection(Map if possible or some kind of generic collection) and again iterate through that collection and access it as key value pairs.

static void PrintJSONResponse(String jsonResponse)

{

//parse the response

def map  = new groovy.json.JsonSlurper().parse(new File('Test.json'))

//iterate through the response and print the key value pairs in the response
    map.each { key, value ->
  println "$key : $value" //this code generates error for the json file I have attached
} //the above code generates errors as below,so how to achieve this?
}
Wed Feb 14 10:47:08 AEDT 2018:ERROR:An error occurred [No signature of method: Script41$_run_closure1.doCall() is applicable for argument types: (groovy.json.internal.LazyMap) values: [[bar:true, foo:42]]
Possible solutions: doCall(java.lang.Object, java.lang.Object), findAll(), findAll(), isCase(java.lang.Object), isCase(java.lang.Object)], see error log for details