Forum Discussion

atn3dxd
Occasional Contributor
7 months ago
Solved

Using Excel Sheet for Data Driven Loop with Empty Cells

I am really new to using Test Complete and I have created a data loop using Excel to iterate through a bunch of rows of data.  It works fine except for when the field in the excel sheet is empty which in some cases it will be empty for the street prefix of an address.  The problem is the test fails when it hits the field in the Excel sheet that is empty for the street prefix.  I have looked around in the help and played with the data set but have not been able to find a way for the loop to just enter nothing if the field in Excel is empty and then move on to the next field.  Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks

• The browser sections under the If and under the Then should be able to be indented. That's how TC looks for the code. Try just indenting "browser" in each case and the rest should move with it.

10 Replies

• WHat kind of test is this? Keyword? Script? What error are you receiving? 

atn3dxd
    Occasional Contributor

It is a keyword test, and the data is withing a data driven loop.  The error is "Type Mismatch".  Anytime there is a value in the field in Excel it works fine but if the field is empty the test fails at that point and then shows the error "Type Mismatch".  The whole row is formatted as "text" in Excel. I did test just putting a space in the empty field and then it enters a space in the field on the webpage, but I really do not want that to be the way it works.

Marsha_R
      Champion Level 3

I encountered that issue a long time ago. The fastest workaround in Excel that I found was similar to yours. We actually put a character in the blank fields and used a code snippet to say if the field was not = "!" then use the field contents.