Forum Discussion

vex
Contributor
13 years ago

Testcomplete and powershell commands

I have a need to write a vbscript (or powershell script) that will read the details of the digital signing certificate of a file - not only if it's valid or not, but like to sure that it's signed, ensure there is a signing timestamp, etc.

Is there a way to do this in vbscript or through test complete?  I can do it in powershell, but I'm unfamiliar on how to have powershell integrated into TC.

For ref, a powershell script example to do part of what i'm talking about is like...

dir <filename> | Get-AuthenticodeSignature | % {if($_.TimeStamperCertificate -eq $null){write-warning "Warning: This file has no time stamp!!!"};$_}

5 Replies

HKosova
    SmartBear Alumni (Retired)
    Hi Vince,

You can get a file's certificate information using the aqFileSystem.GetFileInfo(path).CertificateInfo object. An example is included in the linked article.

If the information provided by TestComplete's CertificateInfo object isn't enough, you can use other scripting APIs such as the CAPICOM.SignedCode object. You can find an example of using this object in VBScript here.

Hope this helps!
    vex
    Contributor
    Helen,

This sorta helps, but that is missing one key piece of information.  While it will tell you the valid from and valid too dates, it doesn't seem to pull the actual timestamp of the certification.  If I'm wrong, please correct me.  Specifically, what I'm talking about is if you go to the file properties of a file, click "Digital Signatures" tab, and you'll see a timestamp there.  That value is what I need to check for. 

This can be done in powershell with the code in the original post, but I need to incorporate that into TestComplete.