Forum Discussion

15 years ago

Issues with recording actions

I am fairly new to the TestComplete (we are using version 6) program and was wondering if anyone else was having similar issues to the ones I am encountering.  I'm having problems where I record performing a function in our application, save the script, reset the data back to the initial condition, and it does not replay the process consistently.  Sometimes it will click on buttons, and other times it will not.  I've also had it record the action twice, causing errors (i.e. I have it click the close button on a form and it records that action before and after it answers a question on the form).  Our application is a windows form application written in VB.Net.  I have adjusted the play back settings to slow it down, and that seems to help a little bit, but I'm still having issues.  I need to have the recording and playback to work with very little to no programming interaction since our end-user testers use this to create data in our new application.  Any suggestion would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks,

Matt

2 Replies

-Pv-
    Occasional Contributor
    I'm also a new 6 user who has also experimented with 7.  It took me weeks to refine my technique for capturing object names reliably so they continue to be found by TC after restarting the app or rebooting the machine.  Any time you can reduce the object names to the minimum necessary, it helps.  The AQA people here can help a lot more than I can, just responding to  the same desperation you have, because I've been there.  There are options in the Engines->Recording section which attempts to help with this problem.  Even with "record short names when possible" I've had to manually edit object names to things like:

w1 = p1.Window("Afx:00400000:8:*", "*").Window("XTPDockBar", "xtpBarTop").Window("XTPToolBar", "The Ribbon");

Note the Afx...

If the long names you are capturing are at the end of the name, stars work well.