Forum Discussion

abinash11
Occasional Contributor
7 years ago
Solved

Host Verification Failed: Invalid address

I have been trying to use the Distributed testing option in Test Complete. Just with most other features with this tool, it has been made as difficult as possible to do basic tasks with so many settings, network suite, jobs etc. I followed the laundry list of checkpoints mentioned in the "Distributed Testing - Requirements" section in the help file. But still no success.

They ask you to disable group policy in the domain. Seriously ? Do the developers of this tool live in the real world ?

Why cant you provide a simple interface to run the tests by giving the Credentials and IP address etc. ? And why cant you provide a tool yourself if so many settings are required. Do you at least look into other tools in the market before coming up with impractical stuff ? I have been using this tool for the past 2 months and frankly, every feature is irritating with a crappy interface or so many settings that you end up kicking yourself for spending so much money. 

I may be ranting but this is the most expensive unworkable test automation tool that I have come across. Looks like developed by some startup with no market research etc.

• As I said, in the real world. getting IT department to create separate policies for QA and other users does not happen or it happens rarely, especially in the age of ultra security. Never happened in more than 5 companies that I have seen.

Besides, there are so many tools in the market which doesn't ask you to disable group policies etc. to run tests. Yes, there will usually be 2 or 3 things to set, but the requirements mentioned by TestComplete takes 3-4 hours for 1 test machine. Why can't they enable the Windows firewall rules during Installation ?