Ask a Question

Avoid losing data when running and creating tests at the same time

QST-ChrisW
New Contributor

Avoid losing data when running and creating tests at the same time

I am using a shared source for storing my tests. This is so I can run the tests on a VM while accessing the same Project Suite to create other tests. When doing this I get a message that the test was modified elsewhere and an opportunity to reload it.

 

The problem I am having is if I reload it one of 2 things happens. If I get the prompt on the machine I am creating tests on, I lose tests that were created, I can manually add them in as existing items, this is a bit tedious. On the other hand, if I get the prompt on the machine I am running the tests on and I reload it the logs for the running tests disappear. I'm sure they are still there in the files but no longer show in the tests.

 

Is there a way to prevent this from happening?

1 REPLY 1
cunderw
Community Hero

I would recommend using source control for sharing your test assets as opposed to a shared director. There many man benefits to doing this. 


Thanks,
Carson

Click the Accept as Solution button if my answer has helped
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: