Forum Discussion

AutoBeginner
New Contributor
4 years ago

TestComplete-Resolution Issue

I am a beginner in automation world.Recently started using Testcomplete and  I scripted (keyword)  the web application using my laptop (resolution 1920,1080) and in laptop it is running successfully, but when I Switch to monitor the scrip breaks .

Tried running the below script at the starting of the execution,still issue is not fixed .Any help will be  much appreciated !!!

function Test()
{
Sys.Browser("chrome").BrowserWindow(0).Restore();
Sys.Browser("chrome").BrowserWindow(0).Position(0, 0, 1920, 1080);
}

Thanks

8 Replies

• Hi,

First off, it's best practices to keep the resolution and dpi of your test machine the same as the environment that you created your test cases in. It would be best if you kept it running at the same resolution. With that said, we cant really know why your tests are failing without looking at your code/keyword tests, and also your error logs, with the details of the failed step. My guess would be that you are using coordinate based actions within one of your steps, which would then fail because for example if you had a button to click based on a coordinate that is no longer there since the button moved due to resolution change, your tests would obviously fail. So get rid of coordinate based actions if possible and you should be good to go.

AutoBeginner
      New Contributor

Thank you for the reply. the resolution is actually same, except that it is monitor screen vs laptop screen. 

I am not using XY coordinate, it is based on the object on Namemapping.Is there a global setup/configuration to turn off XY coordinate while recording script?

The available properties of the namemapping object doesnt use any of those, how do I know for sure it is not using that behind the scene.

Wamboo
    Community Hero

Theoretically, it should have the same/similar resolution.

The whole trick is to make the element available on the screen.