Reply
Highlighted
Super Contributor
Posts: 424
Registered: ‎10-02-2012

Maximum limit of projects in TC Project suite?

[ Edited ]

Hi Guys,

 

I know silly question but still I wanted to know, Could you please help me to find out below details -

 

1- How many projects we can add under a Project Suite ?

2- How many TestScript unit or Keyword Test we can add in a project ?

 

Moderator
Posts: 1,405
Registered: ‎07-22-2014

Re: Maximum limit of projects in TC Project suite?

There is no hard limit, it depends on your computer hardware resources. Just use the common sense.

 

There are some common ways to improve performance, such as: disable Visualizer, disable unused plugins, reduce the number of log messages, optimize Name Mapping/Aliases, and so on. Check these links for more tips:
https://support.smartbear.com/testcomplete/docs/working-with/best-practices/tips.html
https://support.smartbear.com/testcomplete/docs/working-with/best-practices/performance-tips.html

Helen Kosova
SmartBear Technical Writer
________________________
Vote up helpful replies.
Accept this reply if you think it's the best solution to your question.
Community Hero
Posts: 2,934
Registered: ‎07-19-2013

Re: Maximum limit of projects in TC Project suite?

Hi,

 

To my understanding, both numbers can be pretty high.

But you should consider that TestComplete loads all projects and script contents (along with information about objects in the tested application and som other things) into memory and performs a kind of 'precompilation' when opening test suite. So you may just got a high memory load (which may result in runtime slowness and low-memory-related problems) and high project open and test start time if you exceed some empirical limit specific to your given environment.

Regards,
Alex
[Community Expert Group]
____
[Community Expert Group] members are not employed by SmartBear Software but
are just volunteers who have some experience with the tools by SmartBear Software
and a desire to help others. Postings made by [Community Expert Group] members
may differ from the official policies of SmartBear Software and should be treated
as the own private opinion of their authors and under no circumstances as an
official answer from SmartBear Software.
[Community Expert Group] signature is used with permission by SmartBear Software.
http://smartbear.com/forums/f83/t86934/community-experts/
================================
Super Contributor
Posts: 424
Registered: ‎10-02-2012

Re: Maximum limit of projects in TC Project suite?

@HKosova 

 

Here I don't have any problem with the performance and all about the TC, We have already taking care of all those think,

it is just for curiosity. what is the limit of the project, script unit or keyword test we can add in TC. Smiley Happy  

Posts: 4,233
Topics: 37
Kudos: 1,495
Solutions: 307
Registered: ‎11-30-2009

Re: Maximum limit of projects in TC Project suite?

As stated, @Ravik, the only limitation is hardware, really... drive space, memory, and processor capacity.  Generally, if a project seems to be suffering from performance, it's a good bet to split it out into multiple projects.  I don't know if anyone has done any scope measurements to say, "Given X drive space and Y Memory and with Z Processor, this is how big a project can be."  I can't see how such would help because 10 Keyword tests of 50 lines each might act differently than 50 keyword tests of 10 lines each.  As mentioned... use common sense and tweak as necessary.


Robert Martin
[Community Expert Group]
Please consider giving a Kudo if I write good stuff
----

Why automate?  I do automated testing because there's only so much a human being can do and remain healthy.  Sleep is a requirement.  So, while people sleep, automation that I create does what I've described above in order to make sure that nothing gets past the final defense of the testing group.
I love good food, good books, good friends, and good fun.

Extensions available
Community Leaders Program
Posts: 4,233
Topics: 37
Kudos: 1,495
Solutions: 307
Registered: ‎11-30-2009

Re: Maximum limit of projects in TC Project suite?

BTW, something else to note... this is one reason why a data driven/table driven/keyword driven framework many times is a better solution.  Because, rather than a project consisting of a number of test cases which is going to grow, a project can contain simply libraries of code that would parse external data to execute test cases.  The project size is then no longer contingent on how many test cases you have (for that matter, you could TECHNICALLY drop down to, perhaps, one project per AUT) but simply on the amount of libraried code you have. 


Robert Martin
[Community Expert Group]
Please consider giving a Kudo if I write good stuff
----

Why automate?  I do automated testing because there's only so much a human being can do and remain healthy.  Sleep is a requirement.  So, while people sleep, automation that I create does what I've described above in order to make sure that nothing gets past the final defense of the testing group.
I love good food, good books, good friends, and good fun.

Extensions available
Community Leaders Program
Super Contributor
Posts: 424
Registered: ‎10-02-2012

Re: Maximum limit of projects in TC Project suite?

[ Edited ]

TestComplete specifications and limits - statistic table are available ?

Posts: 4,233
Topics: 37
Kudos: 1,495
Solutions: 307
Registered: ‎11-30-2009

Re: Maximum limit of projects in TC Project suite?


Ravik wrote:

TestComplete specifications and limits - statistic table are available ?


See my reply above... no documented specifications concerning limits.


Robert Martin
[Community Expert Group]
Please consider giving a Kudo if I write good stuff
----

Why automate?  I do automated testing because there's only so much a human being can do and remain healthy.  Sleep is a requirement.  So, while people sleep, automation that I create does what I've described above in order to make sure that nothing gets past the final defense of the testing group.
I love good food, good books, good friends, and good fun.

Extensions available
Community Leaders Program
Try QAComplete Now