Forum Discussion

jgoetz
Occasional Contributor
9 years ago
Solved

Read from and write to the same Excel file using VBScript

I am trying to find a solution to the following issue, but what I have found is not working for me so I am not sure what I am missing. 

I have a VBScript that opens and excel spreadsheet that has a header row of keyword script names, saves that name as a variable and in the next row it has an indicator if that script should be run or not.  If the indicator is Y then it uses the name variable to call the keyword test. It loops through these for each test case ID #. 

TC#Global_LoginGlobal_PrimaryNav_OpenCom_Cust_CreateCust
Gen1.0YYY
Gen2.0YYY
Cust1.0NNN

What I would like to add to this is that once the script is ran, it changes the indicator to "P" to indicate that the script ran. 

TC#Global_LoginGlobal_PrimaryNav_OpenCom_Cust_CreateCust
Gen1.0PPP
Gen2.0PPP
Cust1.0NNN

The problem I am running into is when it saves the file, it creates a new file in my My Documents folder, not to the same file and folder.  After looking at this, when the script open's the excel file it is opening it as read only, so it won't save any changes to it. I need to saved to the same file/folder because 1.  if the script stops half way through the test cases, I want to have it updated which test cases ran, instead of me doing it manually so I can start where they left off, and 2. I want to use those results later when running a report.

I have tried several things suggested in other topics, including SaveAs with the the current file's path, closing the excel file before opening it again to write to it, etc., but they are not working for me. I get that the file is read only, cannot write to readonly, etc.

Any help would be appreciated.  What am I missing?  I know some VBScript and newer to TestComplete, but I am still learning. 

This is my script.  I am using Excel 2007.

Sub testSuiteRun(scriptRunType, customerType, runComponentArea)