Forum Discussion

Lagencie
Frequent Contributor
8 years ago

Name Mapping on CSS / XPath Selector Basis

Hello Community,

I am kind of new to Testcomplete and I am trying to get a small test to work with our AngularJS website.

Problem here is, that all the Elements come from outside, so we are not able to add specific classnames / ids or whatever. The only thing how we can keep them unique is by CSS Selector as we get a List of Elements which we could link to Name Mapping Objects for example Textfield1 = .../li[0]... --- Textfield2= .../li[1].... to take the XPATH as an example ignoring the whole path.

Is there a way to do this without scripting, to give the name mapping a variable CSSSelector / XPath to identify the item during runtime

I hope my question is clear - if not just ask and I try to explain further :)

5 Replies

tristaanogre
    Esteemed Contributor

AngularJS web apps should be easily testable via TestComplete.  You shouldn't have to do anything fancy.

When you use the Object Spy to examine one of your elements, do you have something that indicates Object Type and/or ObjectIdentifier?  Also, if you expand the property list to include the Advanced list (should be a link at the top), there are probably a lot of other identifying factors like caption, text, innerText, contentText, etc., that you can use as identifying factors as well.  

Throw up a screenshot of one of your components and the Object Spy properties and we should be able to help with something.

AlexKaras
      Champion Level 3

tristaanogre:
      The problem (as described by @Lagencie and according to what I saw once or twice) is that Angular-based pages do not provide web elements with any id/stable class/etc.

The page I saw (and that I believe was Angular-based) was an absolute horror: all elements were named in the Object Browser by indexes only.

Lagencie: