Forum Discussion

royd
Regular Contributor
8 years ago
Solved

Can not click on 'caret' - invisible to TestComplete!

In main menu, we have some nested sub-menu, that can be revealed by clicking on caret to expand sub-menu.  The caret is invisible to Object Spy! Tried to record script and keyword test. Both failed!

This is probably a good time to mention I am new to JScript/JavaScript! Example will be much appreciated. I am using  TestComplete 12 with Jascript (not converted the scripts to JavaScript yet, due to tight deadline) and IE11. Please see the screens below.

Thanks in advance.

Dave

royd
    8 years ago

Hi Shaker

Double clicking has no effect. :(

After trying everything that has been suggested, realized it was waist of valuable time (tight deadline). I did end up talking to developers, demonstrating the issue. They have agreed to make the necessary changes for it to be visible to TestComplete.

I want to thank every one trying to help me! Kudos to you all! This is a wonderful community and some great people hang out here!! Thank you! :)

20 Replies

tristaanogre
    Esteemed Contributor

First of all... super Kudos to how you presented the problem.  We have screenshots of the UI presentation, we have a shot showing us how the item shows up on the web page source, and we have how TestComplete views the item in the object browser.  Without having your application in front of us, this is EXCELLENT information to help us figure things out.

That said, looking at the way the menu is presented, and unless there is other information, what you'll probably end up doing is clicking on the Link('FODMenu_Emergency') object in your script code, doing a "page.Wait()", and then clicking on the next link.  The reason I say this is that the caret is not actually being rendered, as I can see, as some sort of control but as simply a visual component of the href link itself.  This is why TC is not recognizing it as an object... it's actually part of the Link object.