Forum Discussion

allenj2020
Contributor
3 years ago
Solved

Unable to run TestComplete on Jenkins node

Hello all,

I have a Helpdesk request open for this already, but figured I would try the forums also.

I am trying to run TestComplete on Jenkins for the first time, to migrate our previous NetworkSuite tests for parallel execution using Pipeline execution.

I have a master machine running TestComplete and the Jenkins master, and a node machine running TestExecute and the Jenkins node.  The master machine is logged in as a domain user, and the node machine is logged in and running unlocked with a different domain user, with the Jenkins node running as a service under that same domain user.

When I try to run 'Build Now' on my Pipeline, I see two problems:

1. TestComplete is found and started on the master machine, even though the agent is definitely running on the node.

2. I get an 'Unable to create a user session' error.

The node machine is unlocked, and TestExecute is running on it.

I have gone over the various TestComplete and Jenkins set up pages multiple times, and the following thread which has a similar error but different setup, and I'm still stumped.

https://community.smartbear.com/t5/TestComplete-General-Discussions/Unable-to-create-a-user-session-Error-in-Jenkins/m-p/192496#M36077

Here's my pipeline, which is configured to run a very simple project that I have confirmed can run successfully on the node machine:

pipeline {
  agent none
  stages {
    stage('Run test') {
      agent {
      label 'MyTestNode'
      }
      steps {
        echo "${env.NODE_NAME}"
        testcompletetest credentialsId: '',
        launchType: 'lcProject',
        project: 'inSight_INQ_SFA_OE',
        suite: 'D:\\inSight_HEAD\\Testing\\Projects\\inSight\\inSight.pjs',
        useTCService: true
      }
    }
  }
}

Log:

Started by user admin
Running in Durability level: MAX_SURVIVABILITY