Forum Discussion

xtian
New Contributor
6 years ago

Newbie question about Mapping Swagger Documentation

I'm new to Swagger APIs and JSON APIs in general. Mostly doing practical business Python. Now I have a Swagger API from which I need to get some data. The project has Swagger Documentation. I can add the API key for my client and get the Resources, but the Representations are not quite what I expected, knowing the material. I feel like there's another layer that I'm not seeing--possibly in the Platform's setup of the client's Application.

I found this post, Visualising complex APIs using API Map Following in this direction, was able to use the Pikturr script to generate a UML from the Platform's Swagger API. However, this obviously doesn't include the my client's content. 

Any suggestions how I can map the Swagger API Documentation using my client's API Key?

Or,

Am I misunderstanding something about Swagger APIs asking this question?

I've found several other packages on Github which do similar things, swagger_to_uml, Swagger2Puml, and a tutorial From Swagger to Confluence UML diagrams; however, none describe this particular problem.

2 Replies

miqui
    Occasional Contributor

hi,

..what is your goal?...to understand how the API is consumed?  ..to understand the resources exposed by the API and their reletionships?...you want a UML diagram of the resource model of the API?  which type of UML diagram are thinking of using?

rgds,

Miguel

xtian
      New Contributor

There are several questions here so I will answer them in-line,

..what is your goal?

Right now my goal is to learn if I can use one of the UML diagramming scripts on Github to diagram a Swagger API for a given API Key. 

For the API that I'm interested to diagram, the key gives access to a customized application on the host's platform. In other words, the diagram I shared shows nothing of the customization's which are present when you add the API Key to the Swagger documentation web page.