Forum Discussion

JoostDG
Frequent Contributor
7 years ago

oauth2 authorization dynamic test automation through event handlers

Hi,

I created below script, hope you can benefit from it as well...

I am relatively new to soapui & test automation, have less then 1 year experience with it and had no previous relevant coding background, so perhaps this might not be 100% efficient... but it does what it needs to do (for me :-) ).

First of all, there are already a lot of features within soapui that allow you to dynamically use authorization. At project level you have the "Auth Manager" tab. You can create different profiles and specify for which operations to use which profile. The get access token screens did allow me to authenticate and retrieve an access token, but then we wanted to include my soapui testcases into the build pipeline (via TestRunner.bat command line execution) and there the integrated browser would not work. Even the automation of the browser windows (via front end automation getElementById etc.) would probably not work. So I went with the following approach which gave me sufficient customization possibilities while staying within a generic framework. It makes use of the soapui pro feature RequestFilter.filterRequest within "event handlers".

First off, I need a test suite that will go get my authentication tokens. I have several, for easy demonstration I include 2, an oauth2 token (with access & refresh token validity for several hours) and an openid token generation, without refresh, but with limited 1 hour validity.

I have 1 test suite which I will run at the start of the project, called "_Authorization". This includes 2 test cases, 1) "oauth2" and 2) "openid". For the first I have following test steps:

1.Groovy script to determine whether token is expired.