Forum Discussion

skyhigh
Contributor
7 years ago
Solved

Testing for login failure

Hi,

I'm new to both SOAP testing and SmartBear test tools.  Right now I'm creating the failure test case for login.  The test case uses "Get" API that has parmaters username and password.  For the test case assertion, I use "JSONPath Expression" and the expression is $['IsSuccessful'].  If login is good then the expected result is "true".  However I would like to validate for the failure password so if  the login fails, it should return false as expected result.  so after I put "false" as the expected value and the password parameter I just use random text.  But after I execute the test suite, that test case results as fail instead of pass.  What did I do wrong?  thanks.

•  

200 OK is a standard status code for successful HTTP requests. Content-Length: 0 indicates that no JSON data was in the response so likely to be a problem with the service not the test step or assertion.

15 Replies

skyhigh
      Contributor

Great! thank you for responding to my question.

Not sure if JSON below is what you're asking for.  But this is JSON data from the Response section.

{
      "ErrorMessage": "",
      "IsSuccessful": true,
      "Data": null,
      "IsRedirect": false,
      "RedirectUrl": ""
      }

Please note the JSON above, I took it from other login test case that passes the test run.  As for the test case that I'm asking for help to test the login failure, it does not have JSON data under Response section.

thanks 

nmrao
        Champion Level 3
        skyhigh, do you get the similar response with "IsSuccessful": false on login failure? And that is expected?
  • Hello, maybe I'm coming in late. How do you post the username and the password? I'm not getting on how to do the login using soapUI.

It would be great if you could help me, because I also need to check if login was sucessfull or not.

Thanks in advance!

skyhigh
      Contributor