Forum Discussion

jassi
New Contributor
6 years ago

ReadyApi not reading any data from excel

Hi everyone, I am new to ReadyAPi. Currently I am using ReadyAPI 2.4.0. I am testing some web services (end points) by importing swagger. I have set up a data source with excel file to read security token as well as other properties that I need for get/post test cases. I have created GET and POST test cases under same test suite. ReadyApi is reading all the excel values perfectly fine for POST test case but it is reading nothing for GET. I tried to set up some assetions by reading data from excel, and in the assetiosn the values from excel are empty. I encountered same issue earlier for POST. That time I upgraded to latest version and after that issue was resolved by iteself. But now when I try to create new test case(GET), same problem is coming back. I can read the data from txt file, but the issue appear when reading  from excel. I have no empty cells or duplicate headers/values. I  have already tried deleting the test case/excel data and redoing everything but seems nothing is working.

For adding excel data, I am follwing simple steps of adding the data source and then saying yes for the loop. After that I set my data source to excel and import allt he properties int he sheet. I can see all the values correctly in the Data source section (bottom ) when i click on the run (green play) button. So upto that step data surce is showing me everything is fine but still when i run the test case, it doesnt read any value.  I have attached 2 screen shots to show values appearing in the data souce and the error during assertion. Can anyone provide any suggestions please? 

Thank you!

Edit: I resolved the issue. The problem was , I had to select the "skip empty rows" option. 

3 Replies

Lucian
    Community Hero

That's always cool that you solved it but I don't really get what was the connection between the datasource and the http method type.

jassi
      New Contributor