Forum Discussion

shaidyn
Visitor
6 years ago

Making SoapUI Tests work with SSL Authentication via the command line, using relative file paths

Hi there, folks. I'm relatively new to SoapUI, and I'm trying to do something relatively complex. I've been given a SoapUI Project containing three test suits, each of which has their own tests. These reach out to an environment that requires SSL Authentication to connect. The end goal is to create a series of commands that can be entered on the command line that will run the tests. These commands will then be saved to a TeamCity implementation to automate the running of the SoapUI Tests, on a Linux RHEL box. I've tried a number of possible solutions, and each seems to get me part of the way there. I'm hoping y'all can help me connect the dots.

In the SoapUI GUI, if I go to File > Preferences > SSL Settings, I can enter the Keystore, Keystore Password, and click "Client Authentication" to "requires client authentication". This uses an absolute file path. If I run my project, everything passes.

As I understand it, the changes to the SoapUI Preferences page are "user based", meaning if I run this project elsewhere those changes won't be available. However, according to the documentation I can pass around the soapui-settings.xml file and reference it from the command line. Unfortunately, this isn't working for me. The command I'm using is:

./testrunner.sh -aArjJ -f "results" -t /home/[name]/soapui-settings.xml /home/[name]/Downloads/[Project].xml

When I run this command, the tests fail to authenticate. I'm pointing to the same settings file that the GUI is using, making no changes, but it doesn't work.