Forum Discussion

ManojKumar
Occasional Contributor
7 years ago
Solved

Changing properties dynamically using groovy script

Hi All,

Thanks in advance for the help. I am stuck in below scenario for a while. Since I am new to coding/programming, it is relatively tough for me to understand what's wrong in the code. Any help would be greatly appreciated. Thanks again 

Scenario:

1) I have a REST service which gives me back a response with multiple nodes.

eg: [
      {
      "Namespace": "dbo",
      "ObjectName": "WorkOrder",
      "IsCustomQuery": false,
      "CustomQuery": null,
      "Name": "[dbo].[WorkOrder]",
      "Description": "",
      "Fields": []
   },
      {
      "Namespace": "dbo",
      "ObjectName": "sysdiagrams",
      "Name": "[dbo].[sysdiagrams]",
   },
      {
      "Namespace": "Maintenance",
      "ObjectName": "Configuration",
      "Name": "[Maintenance].[Configuration]",
   }, and so on...

2. Now, I have to use each of this node as request and run another REST service(post). For example, If I have 3 nodes in step 1, I have to run 2nd REST service 3 times. One for each node.

My understanding was that, this could be achieved using set property(), get property() and FOR loop in groovy script.

Pseudocode:

1)      Store each of the node in the response as an item in the array.

2)      Find the number of nodes using sizeof()

3)      Using the number of nodes as the max limit, use FOR loop with the POST request inside the loop using each item in an array as property.

Code used:

import groovy.json.JsonSlurper

def response = context.expand( '${GET schema#Response}' ) /*GET schema is the GET request which returns the response with 12 nodes*/

def r = new JsonSlurper().parseText(response)

def n = r.size()

//log.info(r[1])

def i=0

for (i=0;i<n;i++)

{

testRunner.testCase.setValue("lists", r[i] as String)

def getLocalPropValue = testRunner.testCase.getPropertyValue("lists")