Forum Discussion

n_earnshaw
New Contributor
5 years ago
Solved

Can SOAPUI Pro only handle 1 Table Variable in a SQL Query used to Gather Data for my test

Hi All

I'm a newbie to SOAPUI Pro so please be gentle :-)

I’m using SOAPUI Pro and trying to run a Data driven test where we connect to a SQL Database and retrieve some data to then use in our tests

The script we have written is quite complex at the moment (As we have to retrieve records that meet a large number of conditions.)

We had this working recently where the query involved creating one table variable.

We then realised we had missed a condition out.

As a result the query has been modified to create a second table variable.

When trying to test the query using the data Source step it isn’t retrieving any records.

When we run the query in SQL Server Management Studio we get a set of results.

To try and work out what part of the query was failing I commented out everything apart from the steps to create the 1st table variable. When I then ran in SOAPUI it returned some results for that table.

I then uncommented out the steps to create the second table variable and didn’t get any results back.

Can SOAPUI only handle one table variable?

The idea was that we would put some data into one table variable, some other data into another table variable and then query from those

At this point, it’s not an option to create a stored procedure on the database to gather the data.

• Hi NBorovykh 

Thanks for the extra info.  After speaking with our dev it actually turns out that the issue was that we are trying to do more than 1 insert into our table variables. 

We found that when we did more than one insert, it didn't work but when we got this down to one insert it worked. 

It might be a limitation with JDBC? We'll continue to have a dig around.  AS you guys have said, it doesn't sound like a limitation of SOAPUI.......

5 Replies

richie
    Community Hero

Hey n_earnshaw