Forum Discussion

jayantjayant
New Contributor
5 years ago

Calling custom Groovy script from Script Assertion in REST request

Hi All,

I'm new to Soap UI and Groovy and possibly this is a noob question.

I have a requirement where I want to execute a custom groovy script that will perform some comparision and logic based on parameters passed, FROM a Script Assertion in a REST request.

Is there any possibility to do this? I tried to add a Groovy script with my code in the Test step and tried to write a logic to try and call the script from the Script assertion of a REST request. But I'm unable to get it to work.

9 Replies

nmrao
    Champion Level 3
    The question is very generic and difficult to understand unless specifics of the issue is provided with some sample data.

You may also find previous posts to see if you can find some more ideas.

You said tried some thing. Would you like to share that?
      richie
      Community Hero
      Hi jayantjayant,

Just reiterating what Rao said to provide a little perspective from someone else that has little groovyscript experience (me!) :)

To provide helpful diagnosis of scripting issues the scripters on the forum will nearly always need to see your code (unless your query is very basic and can be resolved with a couple of lines of code).
      The scripters on this forum are always a real big help, but they need more to go on that what youve initially described, but as a quick response to your question, yes its entirely feasible to do a comparison of some of your response against something else via a script assertion.

Cheers,

Rich
        sonya_m
        SmartBear Alumni (Retired)

Hi jayantjayant, while you are working with nmrao and richie on this, just some words of encouragement - don't ever be afraid to sound like a noob in the Community. We are all learning and this is perfectly normal not to know something. Sharing experience is the primary goal of this forum:smileyhappy:

jayantjayant