Forum Discussion

brr7907
Occasional Contributor
15 years ago

Trouble with Demo Listener Example

I'm new to SoapUI and have been very excited to try out the extensions.  I started with the Java examples here -> http://soatoolbox.com/architecture/extensions.html and I immediately had success with the Action, but I'm struggling with the Listener.

I'm hoping a more seasoned user might be able to get me over this hurdle.

I can see that the demo-listeners.xml is being loaded.  I can also see that the SoapUIActionExt.jar file with the DemoListener class is being loaded. 

The problem is that I don't see any output when I run a Test Case.  If I understand the example correctly the amount of time to run the Test Case should be written to the soapUI log.  I don't see it.  I have also tried versions of DemoListener.java that would immediately throw a RuntimeException hoping to see an error popup somewhere with no success.  It sure seems like the DemoListener is not being called.

I have attached the DemoListener.java source file and the contents of soapUI log after restarting SoapUI and running a Test Case.

Note: I did make one change to the DemoListener.java listed online.  I removed the code to dynamically determine the name of the TestCase since it seems that the example code will not compile since  TestRunner does not have a getTestCase() method.

I am currently using SoapUI 3.0

Thanks in advance for the help.

4 Replies

brr7907
    Occasional Contributor
    After a good nights sleep and a second look.  I figured out the problem.  The problem is in the example located here -> http://www.soapui.org/architecture/extensions.html

The example on the website has a classic Java mistake, overloaded...not overidden methods.  The website has this for the following signatures...

public void beforeRun( TestRunner testRunner, TestRunContext runContext )
    public void afterRun( TestRunner testRunner, TestRunContext runContext )