Forum Discussion

MichaelF
Occasional Contributor
10 years ago

SoapUI and [Flags]

Hello,

I'm pretty new to Soap testing and currently evaluating, if SoapUI Pro is an viable option for our testing purposes.
Until now I'm quite positive that we are on the right tool, but I've stumbled over one problem that could be a blocker:

Our web service (written in c#) uses as parameters pretty complex data structures, due to specifications. These data structures often include Enums as flags. To show I've created a small test web service to keep complexity minimal.

These are the enum and the Method that uses the enum inside the test webservice:
[Flags]
public enum testEnum
{
A = 0x0001,
B = 0x0002,
C = 0x0004,
D = 0x0008
}

[WebMethod]
public testEnum TestMethod( testEnum e )
{
e |= testEnum.D;
return e;
}

This is the part of the WSDL of the web service, which defines the response types:

<wsdl:types>
<s:schema elementFormDefault="qualified" targetNamespace="http://tempuri.org/">
<s:element name="TestMethod">
<s:complexType>
<s:sequence>
<s:element minOccurs="1" maxOccurs="1" name="e" type="tns:testEnum"/>
</s:sequence>
</s:complexType>
</s:element>
<s:simpleType name="testEnum">
<s:list>
<s:simpleType>
<s:restriction base="s:string">
<s:enumeration value="A"/>
<s:enumeration value="B"/>
<s:enumeration value="C"/>
<s:enumeration value="D"/>
</s:restriction>
</s:simpleType>
</s:list>
</s:simpleType>
<s:element name="TestMethodResponse">
<s:complexType>
<s:sequence>
<s:element minOccurs="1" maxOccurs="1" name="TestMethodResult" type="tns:testEnum"/>
</s:sequence>
</s:complexType>
</s:element>
</s:schema>
</wsdl:types>