Forum Discussion

richard_mccarth
Contributor
16 years ago

Samples showing use of Xpath and Scripts in Dispatch for Response Selection

Hope this is'nt to dumb a question but I am new to SOAP UI and I am trying to explore the use of XPath and Scripts in the dispatch selection for a mock operation.

I cant seem to find any examples of either of these in the documentation, does anyone know if samples exist or have a script or Xpath that selects a response based upon the request data ?

5 Replies

omatzura
    Super Contributor
    Hi!

sorry for the lack of documentation on this. There have been a couple of posts on this both here and on the sourceforge forums (http://sourceforge.net/forum/forum.php?forum_id=494205), please search around to find examples. Also, the documentation at http://www.soapui.org/userguide/mock/op ... ispatching and the included sample project has some code for this..

If this doesn't help, please ask more specific questions and I'll try to help you forward!

regards,

/Ole
    eviware.com
  • Hi Ole,

Thanks for your reply. I dug around and managed to figure out the basic formats for XPath and script as shown below.

XPath
    --------

Return the data of the FromCurrency element in the 'web' namespace in the request, this needs to match a response name configured for the request.

e.g. if the from currency is USD then you need a response called USD

declare namespace web='http://www.webserviceX.NET/';
    //web:FromCurrency/text()

Note where the return does not match a response name then you get the default response.

Script
    -------

Using the same idea as above but with a script instead

def groovyUtils = new com.eviware.soapui.support.GroovyUtils (context)
    def holder = groovyUtils.getXmlHolder ( mockRequest.requestContent )
    def fromCcy = holder.getNodeValue("//web:FromCurrency/text()")
    return fromCcy

Note it appears that where the return does not match a response name then you do not get the default response.
    omatzura