Forum Discussion

Mis3
Frequent Contributor
4 years ago

New to SoapUI

I am new to SoapUI (v5.5) but I did, in a regular basis, send XML requests from my laptop to other systems via SoapUI.  Our vendors supplied me with the WSDL as well as the actual requests.  

Is there any way SoapUI can read a data file in my laptop and sends the same XML request to an external system one by one?  More specifically, there are only one variable in the XML request and I have to send this request to update multiple records in an external table.   So, one variable, same request to one destination. 

Sorry if I am not using the right terminologies.  I think the proper terminology for variables is “property”. 

9 Replies

richie
    Community Hero
    Hey Mis3,

So,i just want to be clear....i tend to get confused easily so its easier to just clarify everything up front.

Question1. You have some multiple testdata records helds in either a single file or multiple files (one record in each testdata file) on your laptop. Is that right?

Question2. You have a single api endpoint which you want to send the content in these testdata files. Is that right?

Question3. Youve been given a wsdl file to help you setup the required tests. Is that right?

Question4. You mention a wsdl, so this is a SOAP request. Is that right?

Question5. The content of your testdata defined records. Is it whole xml instances (which youve been told is the payload for you SOAP requests) or have you just got a list of attribute values in your testdata that has been mapped to xml tags within a predefined payload?

Question6. What level of setup and automation is required? Do you want a single testcase to loop through your testdata (which requires groovyscript) or is it acceptable for individual testcases, 1 testcase for each testdata permutation defined?

Cheers,

Rich
      Mis3
      Frequent Contributor

Apology of being confusing.  I am sure I am not using the right terminologies.