Forum Discussion

hindza
New Contributor
7 years ago
Solved

Help adding Assertions with Groovy Script

Hi gents, 

First time poster here, I am in desperate need of your help. I've tried scouring the web trying to find a simple solution to my problem, but haven't been able to find it. I am a total SoapUI noob, and what little I know has been self-taught.  

First off let me put you in perspective of why I need a quicker solution for my problems. I'll try not to provide too much details as I'm not sure what I am allowed to talk about/post.

I've been given a task of curating a rather large (at least in my mind) library of REST tests. I have multiple SoapUI projects which contain 10 Test Cases each (one for each user), which further contain between 50 and 300 Test Steps Each. 

A Project has the following structure: 

- Project Name: 

- Test Case Alpha User: 

- Authentication Step

- Property Transfer Step

- Test Step With a Name

- Test Step With a Name

- Test Step With a Name

- Test Step With a Name

- etc...

- Test Case Beta User: 

- Authentication Step

- Property Transfer Step

- Test Step With a Name

- Test Step With a Name

- Test Step With a Name

- etc...

- Test Case etc... 

The Project has 11 Custom Properties: 
 - DB Name property

- User Auth. Token Alpha

- User Auth. Token Beta

- etc. 

Steps are configured like this: 

The Authentication step contains a pointer to the DB Name property and contains User Name/ID, User Password and some filter values, and returns (among other things) an Auth. Token.

The Property Transfer step takes that Auth. Token and writes it into the appropriate Custom Property (Let's say "User Auth. Token Alpha")

A Test Step contains a field that points to the DB Name property, a field that points to the User Token property and some filters. 

For Assertions, I used the "Contains" type to input an exact string I would receive as a part of the Raw Response (different for each test). 

Example of Raw Response: