Forum Discussion

aviwk
New Contributor
10 years ago

Getting Started with Groovy Workflow

Hi,

I was wondering if anyone know of a good video tutorial to get started with using SoapUI only using Groovy. Meaning, writing and creating all tests with Groovy, and then running them with a batch script.

I'm completely new to SoapUI, and google searches seem to only show using Groovy as a helper as part of tests which run and are created mostly through the GUI. Thanks.

7 Replies

nmrao
    Champion Level 3
    What you mean by
    writing & creating all tests with Groovy.

You mean to say that run the tests without gui?
    aviwk
    New Contributor
    nmrao wrote:
    What you mean by
    writing & creating all tests with Groovy.

You mean to say that run the tests without gui?

Possibly. I want them to be automated and run by a program which spits out a report, that doesn't sit on my computer. If that's with or without the GUI isn't so important,but I want to be able to create the tests without the GUI if possible.

If it's not possible, please let me know what the limits are.
    nmrao
    Champion Level 3
    1. It is possible to execute the tests/soapui using ant or jenkins so you do not have to use UI.
    2. To create tests without UI, you may use soapui's API.
    aviwk
    New Contributor
    nmrao wrote:
    1. It is possible to execute the tests/soapui using ant or jenkins so you do not have to use UI.
    2. To create tests without UI, you may use soapui's API.

Thanks. Is this done by compiling a groovy jar/war or some other way?
    nmrao
    Champion Level 3
    For running tests in ant/jenkins, you would require to write ant scripts.
    To create tests using api, you may need to write code and create project. I would not think you need to create jar unless it is being created as a utility or something like that.
    How do you plan to do?
    aviwk
    New Contributor
    Currently, I'm trying to understand my options.