Forum Discussion

Sandia_National
Occasional Contributor
12 years ago

Want the name of the file loaded into DataSource.

Hi All,

Newbie here.

I've successfully used a DataSource loaded up with an Excel spreadsheet. Sweet!

Now, down in another Step, I'd like to know the name of that file. Is it stored away in some property? I'm getting the columns of the spreadsheet just fine.

To make sure I've described it: I Browsed to my .xls file in the DataSource. That filename is displayed in the File: textbox of the DataSource editor. I would like, in a subsequent TestStep of the same TestCase, to know that filename.

Cheers,
--Bob

5 Replies

Sandia_National
    Occasional Contributor
    Oh. The "subsequent TestStep" is a groovy step, if that matters.
    I looked around in the javadocs for something like a "DataSourceStep" class, but only found stuff about a DataSourceConfig, and couldn't figure out how to use it (nor to get one, even if I knew how to use it).

BTW, the javadocs were very hard for me to find. Did I just miss the big "API" button somewhere?

Cheers,
    --Bob
  • Can you please attach your project along with the steps that you are taking to see if we can retrieve the file? Thanks.

Regards,
    Temil
    Sandia_National
    Occasional Contributor
    Hi Temil,
    Here's a sample project and a little spreadsheet (Assuming I figure out how to upload them).

I put some comments into the "Groovy Script" test step, in the "TestCase 1" teardown method, and in the "Groovy Script Lead" test step. These describe what I am hoping to do.

In short, the DataSource is configured to load the Excel file: C:/Users/bwhiteside/example/Book1.xls. In the TestCase teardown, I'd like to be able to read that filename so I can write a little report right beside the spreadsheet. In C:/Users/bwhiteside/example/Book1.html, for example.