Forum Discussion

bassun
Regular Visitor
6 years ago

Updating Excel via Groovy script, crashes during loops.

Hello all - I'm a novice with ReadyAPI and Groovy, but here is the situation:
I want to update individual cells within an excel sheet, utilizing a loop such that I am updating new information on each line of the datasheet for subsequent uses during each execution of the datasource loop.  Basically, each iteration of the test, I want to update data into the datasheet.

I can make it work fine, one time.  As soon as I begin looping through for additional runs I get errors.  Usually either a Biff error about the file not existing or an array out of bounds.  In either case, the problem is driven by the excel book being open.  I cannot even open it manually as SoapUI has hold on it.  If, however, I restart my script, and do NOT allow it to loop - it works fine and closes as expected.  Even if it had the error previously.

I am not sure how the flow impacts it, but the mechanics are that I am taking a datafile from location "X", making a copy of it into a dynamically named folder structure, and placing the xls file there (not xlsx) [using Ant for this portion].  I then pull data from the sheet, hit whatever service, and want to store the returns in the same file for later runs / test cases, etc.  To do so, I am using jxl, and leveraging a copy of the book with a writableworkbook.

For this example, I am simply trying to write the var "info" into each cell as a proof of concept.  Gathering the data isn't an issue.  I am controlling the row pointer using a suite variable to align the output with the correct input from the datasource.

Here is the code:

import jxl.*
import jxl.write.*
def location = context.expand('${#TestSuite#dataFilePath}') 
log.info location //Path remains correct

def row = context.expand('${#TestSuite#currentRow}')
log.info row //Row is correct

def myrow = row.toInteger()
def inFile = (location);