Forum Discussion

GTaylor
Occasional Contributor
12 years ago

Insert multiple rows into DB from SOAP response/propertyTran

hi.
I am new to SoapUIPRO 4.5.1 and I've run into an obstacle. I have a response message that I'm mapping certain elements to a propertyTransfer so I might commit those to a database. My problem is that in my response message I have a nested object model like so.

<masterQuote>
<msterQuoteId>12345</masterQuoteId>
<quotes>
<qoute>quote 1</quote>
<quote>quote 2</quote>
<quote>quote 3</quote>
</quotes>
</msterQuote>

In my database I will have three rows that represent this data. All three rows will have the same master quote info and then the individual quote info. So the short of it is, how do I tell soapUIPro to finish inserting one row and then move on to the next row? Three inserts one per each nested model. This is a reporting database table so I'm not looking to super normalize it with a masterQuote/child quote table structure.

I can't seem to find a clear answer here in the forum, but I'm sure there has to be a pretty simple way.

Thanks for your time.

8 Replies

SmartBear_Suppo
    SmartBear Alumni (Retired)
    Hi,

I think what you need is SoapUI's DataSource concept.

http://www.soapui.org/Data-Driven-Testi ... tests.html
    http://www.soapui.org/Data-Driven-Testi ... urces.html
    http://www.soapui.org/Data-Driven-Testi ... orial.html

The DataSource can be used to iterate over some data for example the values of some element(s) of a response.
    You can even nest datasources to achieve a high level of control.

If, in your case, the root node is "masterQuote" then you have a really simple case for datasources. If you can have several masterQuotes in a list then you may need to have a nested DataSource for "quote" within the outer "masterQuote".

Does that make any sense? Maybe I misunderstood your question.