Forum Discussion

anirtek
Occasional Contributor
3 years ago

Need help enabling OpenAPI into non-spring java project

I am using jetty server that is initiated with a port and threadconnectionpool. I add the handlers to the contexts object and then all my APIs are in the com.example.handler package. 

I am very very new to the OpenAPI and I want to document all my above apis. How do I get started from scratch? I mean what kind of dependencies do I need and also what should I do to hook up my project with openApi? 

8 Replies

• Hey anirtek; have you looked into using swagger-core? It's a Java implementation of the OpenAPI Specification. The documentation in the link should help you get started with your new project.

anirtek
      Occasional Contributor

joejoyce this is a great suggestion. Infact I am looking for solution in Jakarta namespace only. I will try to use this. But would this automatically generate the OpenAPI yaml after code annotation? Or I will have to use some tool to get the yaml first? I am trying to generate yaml from code annotations. Can you provide something about this confusion? 

joejoyce
        Staff

anirtek yes indeed; using the swagger-core method, the Swagger/OAS contract is generated from an API based on the meta-data added against the various resources, methods and controllers. This meta-data will generate the contract, client-side code, and other artifacts during runtime. Typically, this meta-data will be in the form of code annotations. 

You'll find some more useful documentation on this here.

Hope this helps!

anirtek
      Occasional Contributor

joejoyce I think swagger core project is what I am looking for. But I need some more help about this.

In the Where to start section, it says -