Interview with Rudolf Bothma - TestComplete Community Leader

SBCommunity_BNR-2666x208.png

Hi Community,

Today, we will talk with our newest TestComplete Leader, Rudolf Bothma ( @RUDOLF_BOTHMA  ). Rudolf joined the SmartBear Community several years ago. He was learning TestComplete, faced some issues and came to us, the SmartBear Community. Let’s learn what changed since that time, and who “paramedics of the TestComplete Community” are according to Rudolf.

Rudolf, please share with us how you came to the QA industry.

[Rudolf]

Hi Tanya,

I'm a software engineer with no formal computer sciences training. It was always just figuring out the best way to do it in the present moment. The same applies to TestComplete. I have absolutely no QA background and wouldn't know the slightest bit of good practice or what the present holds, let alone the future. I picked up the testing mantle in my organization because nobody else was. Everybody was too busy developing software which, ironically, is why we have to have testing. My work is mostly done in evenings during overtime. If you add them all together I'm guessing it's the equivalent of 3 to 4 weeks of full time work - not much.

[Tanya]

Do you remember how you found the SmartBear Community? What was your first question about?

[Rudolf]

I don't know how I got to the SmartBear Community, but I would bet it was along the lines of "Help! This doesn't work! Someone tell me what I'm doing wrong". Of course I got a response! Probably, from @tristanogre, @AlexKaras or @cunderw. Those guys have to be sitting at their machines 24/7 just ready to give a quality response! I'm pretty much always a second responder after one of them. They are the paramedics of the TC Functional Web Testing Community!

[Tanya] 

You actively participate in TestComplete Web Testing forum discussions. Do you use TestComplete to test only web applications?

[Rudolf]