Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Testing for login failure

SOLVED
skyhigh
Contributor

Testing for login failure

Hi,

I'm new to both SOAP testing and SmartBear test tools.  Right now I'm creating the failure test case for login.  The test case uses "Get" API that has parmaters username and password.  For the test case assertion, I use "JSONPath Expression" and the expression is $['IsSuccessful'].  If login is good then the expected result is "true".  However I would like to validate for the failure password so if  the login fails, it should return false as expected result.  so after I put "false" as the expected value and the password parameter I just use random text.  But after I execute the test suite, that test case results as fail instead of pass.  What did I do wrong?  thanks.

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
PaulMS
Super Contributor

Re: Testing for login failure

200 OK is a standard status code for successful HTTP requests. Content-Length: 0 indicates that no JSON data was in the response so likely to be a problem with the service not the test step or assertion.

View solution in original post

15 REPLIES 15
nmrao
Community Hero

Can you please show the json?

Regards,
Rao.
skyhigh
Contributor

Great! thank you for responding to my question.

Not sure if JSON below is what you're asking for.  But this is JSON data from the Response section.

{
"ErrorMessage": "",
"IsSuccessful": true,
"Data": null,
"IsRedirect": false,
"RedirectUrl": ""
}

Please note the JSON above, I took it from other login test case that passes the test run.  As for the test case that I'm asking for help to test the login failure, it does not have JSON data under Response section.

thanks 

nmrao
Community Hero

@skyhigh, do you get the similar response with "IsSuccessful": false on login failure? And that is expected?

Regards,
Rao.
skyhigh
Contributor