Forum Discussion

vivekanandan_m
New Contributor
6 years ago

Testing Linux command line using Ready API

Hi Team,

I am new to Ready API, I have steps in my manual test case that needs me to log on to Linux using Putty and access files, execute commands.

Is it feasible to log in to Linux and execute commands using Ready API. 

Note: I am using Ready API for webservices testing and as a extension of my test case I want to make property changes and restart server.

4 Replies

nmrao
    Champion Level 3
    Please elaborate more on the use case? If you are testing web services, you can verify it based on the response mostly. Why putty / or access files?
      vivekanandan_m
      New Contributor

Hi,

Ofcourse the webservice response is being checked on Ready API window, but as one of pre-requisite of my test case I have to make property changes, restart services and then send a SOAP request. Basically this is a negative test to verify SOAP response when server is down.

Lucian
        Community Hero

Hi vivekanandan_m ,

The answer to your question is yes - you can log into a Linux machine and execute commands through ReadyApi.

Short answer

In order to execute a command you need to create a text file that contains the command. This file must be on the same machine as the ReadyApi application. You also need to have Putty on the same machine. Then you create a groovy script step and you can execute the command as:

'cmd /c D:\\applications\\putty\\putty.exe -ssh yourserver -l yourusername -pw yourpassword -m D:\\applications\\putty\\commands.txt'.execute()

Long answer

ReadyApi can execute cmd commands through groovy script. Luckily, putty can be ran from cmd. :)

Follow the following steps to be able to run commands from ReadyApi in Linux machines:

1. Copy Putty on the same machine as ReadyApi.