Forum Discussion

ccoles
New Contributor
4 years ago
Solved

Property Transfer to Excel

Hi All,

I am pretty new to Ready API.  I have a SoapUI pro project that has a request XML and I want to take some data from the response message and pass it into an Excel file.  Image below shows set up.

In my property transfer step I want to the @uuid which is fine I can get that to work and output to excel.  I also was to take some data from the section that says a:Respon... (last bit on Response section on the screen shot above).

This is some of what in in there.  If for example I wanted to get the postcode, I'm not sure how  I would go about it? 

<?xml version="1.0" ?><PolMessage xmlns="" Type="TransactionResponse" Version="1"><TranResult TranName="QuoteDetail" Completed="Y" ErrorCount="0" /><SchemeResult Ref="LVAO" Completed="Y" ErrorCount="0"><PolData Type="Output"><ProposerPolicyholder><ProposerPolicyholder_Type Val="P" Desc="Private" /><ProposerPolicyholder_NoOfVehiclesAvailableToFamily Val="0" /><ProposerPolicyholder_DateOfBirth Val="18/08/1944" /><ProposerPolicyholder_AddressLine1 Val="5, St Peters Hill" /><ProposerPolicyholder_AddressLine2 Val="Test Town" /><ProposerPolicyholder_PostCodeSector Val="BB7 1" Desc="BB7 1" /><ProposerPolicyholder_PostCodeFull Val="BB7 1QS" />

This is what my data sink looks like

Would really appreciate any help or advice as I am a complete novice.

Thanks

Charlene

• Hey ccoles 

The problem is the unescaped XML characters you have in your payload - I can't see your full payload in the screenshot, I can only see a segment - but I think the contents of the a:Response tag are unescaped XML.

unescaped XML represents the < > characters as &lt; and &gt; character strings.

The trouble with your payload containing these characters is that the XML parser that separates out the payload's tags ignores everything and treats it as character data - NOT XML.