Forum Discussion

Stalsy
Contributor
3 years ago

Nested DataSource loops

Hi, I am new to ReadAPI and API testing, so I’m learning as I go along…

I’m using data driven testing and have the following issue:

My rest request uses the customerID to get information about the customer’s accounts.  So, the response is a json array that in its simplest form would look something like below (the real one has much more information per account):

{

"customerId" : “11111”,

"accounts" : [

{

"accountId" : "1",

"creationDate" : "2001-04-10",

"currentBalance" : "10.00"

},

{

"accountId" : "2",

"creationDate" : "2003-01-30",

"currentBalance" : "20.00"

},

{

"accountId" : "23",

"creationDate" : "2020-04-27",

"currentBalance" : "30.00"

}

]

}

My problem is that one customer may have 1 account and the next one 30 accounts.  Data driven testing works with a fixed number of rows per iteration.  In previous tests I used the listagg function to collect the information of multiple rows in a single row, but listagg will not work here because there is a lot of information per account, plus I have customers with more than 100 accounts!

So the way I solved this is with nested dataSource loops:

• The first SQL returns a bunch of customerIDs and the number of active accounts each customer has (dataSource1).
  • Then comes the REST request for a customer ID
  • Then I have a groovy script to test that the API ahs returned the number of accounts I expected
  • Then another SQL script to fetch the customer’s account information: accountID, creation Date and currentBalance (dataSource2).
  • Following is another groovy script to check that the accountID, creation Date and currentBalance of dataSource2 exist in the REST response
  • Loop to Datasource2
  • Loop to REST request