Forum Discussion

stewmoon
Occasional Contributor
7 years ago
Solved

Modifying existing Headers in REST request using Event Handlers

Hello,

Currently I have an Event Handler that uses RequestFilter.filterRequest to add a Handler to only certain Test Cases.  

My question is how to Modify existing headers in a REST request using Event Handlers.  Specifically - How would I use an Event Handler to Delete this header, and or Modify the Value of this header.   

I have tried to use the soapui/api (http://www.soapui.org/apidocs/overview-summary.html) to find classes that I can use, however I am new to it and am unable to find what I am looking for.

If you do answer this question can you please provide a link to how you found the answer in the api/docs?  

Thank you

6 Replies

nmrao
    Champion Level 3
    Not sure If I understand the question.
    If you need to modify certain header value for all the requests(?), then why to delete this header? Please clarify.
  • stewmoon, 

I had a situation where I needed to change the header in every GET request  (from inside a groovy script at RequestFilter.filterRequest) from json to application/x-www-form-urlencoded. I did not use the headers.clear() operation but had similar operations that the URLs above explain (message 4).  I would guess when assigning headers to request.requestHeaders it is doing a replacement. Here is what I did

def headers = request.requestHeaders

log.info "\n\n\n\n"
    log.info "                  This is the RequestFilter.filterRequest Groovy Script running now "
    log.info "\n\n\n\n"

String theMethod = context.getProperty("httpMethod").toString()