Highlighted
Contributor
Posts: 24
Registered: ‎03-20-2012

"The window does not repond" problem

I'm trying to set the text value of a combo box (standard window for choosing path to file in Windows 7) using given string  in my test. I'm using such line:

Call Sys.Process("AdaptiveVisionStudio").Window("*", "Open", 1).Window("ComboBoxEx32", "", 1).Window("ComboBox", "", 1).Window("Edit", "", 1).setText(licenceFilePath)



When it comes to this line in test, it fails and gives the following message:


The window with the 0x002b04fe handle exists but did not
respond during the auto-wait timeout (10000 ms).



Try increasing the
'Auto-wait timeout' project property.



Tested
object:

Sys.Process("AdaptiveVisionStudio").Window("#32770", "Open",
1).Window("ComboBoxEx32", "", 1).Window("ComboBox", "", 1).Window("Edit", "",
1)



It says the window does not respond, but the text is actually set properly in combo box, I check it with Object Spy and it does see this window. I tried using WaitWindow method before setting the text but it seems to have nothing to do with this problem because the window always exists it just "does not respond". Can anyone help me with this? It's pretty annoying as it didn''t seem to be a complicated operation to simply set the combo box text.
Moderator
Posts: 793
Registered: ‎07-22-2014

RE: "The window does not repond" problem

Hi Daniel,



Not exactly an answer to your question, but why don't you use the OpenFile method?


			
			
				
Helen Kosova
SmartBear Technical Writer
________________________
Vote up helpful replies.
Accept this reply if you think it's the best solution to your question.
Contributor
Posts: 24
Registered: ‎03-20-2012

RE: "The window does not repond" problem

Hello Helen, thank your for your reply.



I tried this method, although it still gives me an error message, only
this time on the line Sys.Process("AdaptiveVisionStudio").Window("*",
"Open", 1).OpenFile(licenceFilePath) :




The window with the 0x004604e0 handle exists but did not
respond during the auto-wait timeout (10000 ms).



Try increasing the
'Auto-wait timeout' project property.



Tested
object:

Sys.Process("AdaptiveVisionStudio").Window("#32770", "Open", 1)
Moderator
Posts: 793
Registered: ‎07-22-2014

RE: "The window does not repond" problem

Hi Daniel,



Since you're using Windows 7, it's most likely a permissions issue. Try running TestComplete as an administrator - does this help?



If it does not, try increasing the Auto-wait timeout value in Tools > Current Project Properties > Playback to, say, 60000 (60 sec).



Let me know your results.
Helen Kosova
SmartBear Technical Writer
________________________
Vote up helpful replies.
Accept this reply if you think it's the best solution to your question.
Contributor
Posts: 24
Registered: ‎03-20-2012

RE: "The window does not repond" problem

Helen, in both machines where I run these tests (virtual with TE and physical with TC) I have the user account control turned off. About the timeouts I will have to check it tomrrow as I don't have the access to TestComplete to change it right now - when I run the tests although the error message is right after the previous operation (this is not even a second after).



The strange thing is that I use the WaitWindow method every time before using this combo box or the method you provided and every time it finds the object (it's also visible in Object Spy).
Contributor
Posts: 24
Registered: ‎03-20-2012

RE: "The window does not repond" problem

Do you have any other ideas, please? Unfortunately it didn't help so far.
Moderator
Posts: 793
Registered: ‎07-22-2014

RE: "The window does not repond" problem

Hi Daniel,



With regard to UAC: Disabled UAC is not the same as running as admin. For example, if you're working under a standard user account rather than an administrator account. In this case the "run as admin" suggestion is still valid.



If neither helps, would you mind collecting some troubleshooting info to help us track down the problem? Please do the following:



* Start TestComplete and open your test project.



* Run two instances of the ReportGenerator utility:

C:\Program Files\SmartBear\TestComplete 9\Bin\ReportGenerator.exe

(Correct the path appropriately.)



* In one instance, click the Launch/attach to TestComplete link.



* In the other instance, click the Track application launch link and specify your application name (AdaptiveVisionStudio) in the next dialog.



Once you perform the steps, the utility will trace the work of TestComplete and the application under test. After the problem happens and you see the error in the test log, click the Generate button in each utility window and create report archives.



Please send the two archives to Support as a reply to your support ticket M0101316.
Helen Kosova
SmartBear Technical Writer
________________________
Vote up helpful replies.
Accept this reply if you think it's the best solution to your question.
Contributor
Posts: 24
Registered: ‎03-20-2012

RE: "The window does not repond" problem

Hello Helen.



Thank you for your reply. I run test from Administrator account in both cases. Anyway, I created the report files and sent them as you suggested.
N/A
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎12-19-2012

RE: "The window does not repond" problem

Was there a resolution to this issue?  I'm hitting the exact same problem with a WinForms text box.   Exists is true, CanFocus and CanSelect properties are true but trying to SetText intermittently fails with window does not respond error as mentioned above.  Hard coded delays do not resolve the issue.
Frequent Contributor
Posts: 88
Registered: ‎06-26-2014

RE: "The window does not repond" problem

Hi ,

Did you try "Keys" method to insert text into the TextBox ?



Note:

I have noticed one difference between "SetText" and "Keys", the "Keys" method is much much slower than "SetText".